CS 330: Discrete Structures (S'21, IIT)

Announcements

Calendar

The course calendar is tentative and likely to change. All readings are from the Rosen text.

Tue Jan 19

Thu Jan 21

Tue Jan 26

Thu Jan 28

Tue Feb 2

Thu Feb 4

Tue Feb 9

  • COVID Study

Thu Feb 11

Tue Feb 16

Thu Feb 18

Tue Feb 23

Thu Feb 25

Tue Mar 2

Thu Mar 4

Tue Mar 9

Thu Mar 11

Tue Mar 16

Thu Mar 18

Tue Mar 23

Thu Mar 25

Tue Mar 30

Thu Apr 1

Tue Apr 6

Thu Apr 8

  • COVID Study

Tue Apr 13

  • Class 22: Graphs 1
  • Reading: §§ 10.1-10.2

Thu Apr 15

  • Preliminary Exam 2 on Classes 10 - 18

Tue Apr 20

  • Class 23: Graphs 2
  • Reading: §§ 10.3-10.5

Thu Apr 22

  • Class 24: Graphs 3
  • Reading: §§ 10.1-10.5

Tue Apr 27

  • Class 25: Trees
  • Reading: §§ 11.1-11.4

Thu Apr 29

Tue May 4

Thu May 6

Thu May 13

  • Final Exam (2:00-4:00 pm) Available 12 noon - 11:59 pm Apx. ⅓ on Classes 1-18, ⅔ on Classes 19-27

Assignments

General Instructions

Homework 1

Homework 2

Homework 3

Homework 4

Homework 5

Homework 6

Homework 7

Homework 8

Resources

Schedule

  • Lectures:
    • Tue/Thu 2:00 pm - 3:15 pm, via class Zoom, CS 330-V01 (CRN 20030)
  • Recitations: WH-116 and Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.
    • Fri 11:15 am - 12:05 pm, CS 330-S02 (CRN 28856)
    • Fri 2:00 pm - 2:50 pm, CS 330-S03 (CRN 52149)
    • Fri 3:35 pm - 4:25 pm, CS 330-S04 (CRN 52150)

Staff

Instructor: Dr. Jim Sasaki

  • .  Office hours: (via Zoom) Tue/Thu 11:30 am - 12:30 pm

TA 1: Li Zhang

  • .  Office Hours: Wed 9:45 - 11:45 am (use BB 330 > Collaborate Ultra)

TA 2: Harsh Vora

  • .  Office Hours: Wed 12:45 - 1:45 pm (use zoom for office hours).

Discussion

  • We will use Discord for peer support and the Q/A forum. There's a cs330 channel on cs@iit. If you aren't already a member, please join at https://discord.gg/5rrpAy89DJ [upd 3/15].
  • Use Discord for all discussions about assignments and course mechanics.
  • For grading questions, contact the TAs who graded the problem (and cc the instructor), or use TA office hours.
  • (The instructor apologizes but there are times when it can take a couple of days to answer an email or Discord posting.)

References